Who We Are

About Us

We are committed... to YOU!

The Trinidad and Tobago Fire Service Credit Union has been seeking the needs of its membership from inception.  We started under the staircase at the Fire Service Headquarters on Wrightson Road in 1966 with a view to ensuring that the needs of the fire men, fire women and their immediate families were met, and we have facilitated dreams of these persons who risk their lives for this nation.

We have survived several economic, social and industry challenges, and developments to grow to a membership of 7,000, with three branches.  As a stable organization, we continue to adapt to the ever changing economic and social landscape, always keeping the interest of the membership paramount.

We remain distinguished by performance and we look forward to the future with enthusiasm and hope. Our members can look forward to the introduction of the following:

  • Our Debit Bank Card
  • Home and Internet Banking
  • Mortgages

Our Mission

We are a leading financial institution, creating wealth for members and enabling their socio-economic advancement by:

  • using cutting edge technology
  • professionally delivering excellent and competitive financial, educational and developmental services
  • upholding high levels of transparency and ethical standards
  • fostering members’ confidence and trust
  • maintaining financial stability
  • exceeding international prudential standards

Our Vision

To be the first choice financial institution facilitating dynamic wealth creation, socio-economic development and financial stability for all our members.

Our Core Values

  • Acting in the members best interest
  • Honest & Transparent
  • Respect all persons
  • Team work
  • Quality

Our Committees are Committed
to our Members!


The Board of Directors for the Trinidad and Tobago Fire Service Credit Union is a group of strategic, dedicated, loyal, and committed members, who have been elected to serve the membership and steer the TTFSCU to profitability. The Board of Directors is elected by our membership during the Annual General Meeting and comprises of nine (9) members, who report to the general membership.


This committee serves the membership by providing information and educational opportunities that is critical to enhancing the lives of each member. Educational programmes include financial counseling, money management, skill and entrepreneurial development and providing timely information on national and international credit union matters. There are seven (7) committee members in the Education Committee.


The Credit Committee acts as the credit administrators of the organization and supervises loans processing to members. This committee is also responsible for assessing prospective borrowers’ credit standing and ability to repay debt. This committee is guided by the loan policy of the Credit Union. The Credit Committee consists of six (6) members that are elected by the membership at the Annual General Meeting.


The Counseling Committee aids in recommending, developing, implementing and managing financial counseling services for our membership.


This committee ensures that the TTFSCU buildings are functionally and structurally sound and well protected.


The Nomination Committee is a group of volunteers from our membership that recommends other members to existing committees. The purpose of this committee is to ensure fair and unbiased selection of volunteers to committees.


The Policy and Bylaws Committee is responsible for ensuring the development, implementation and management of policies and TTFSCU bylaws. These committee members police the policies and bylaws of the TTFSCU, thereby ensuring a smooth flow of operations.


This committee comprises of a group of membership volunteers to develop service and product offerings that benefit the membership. These service and product offerings are based on the feedback provided from the membership.


The HR Committee is charged with the responsibility to ensure that good corporate governance and proper HR policies are enforced. The HR Committee also seeks to alleviate any grievances that may arise with employees.


The Supervisory Committee examines the affairs of the Credit Union, including an audit of its books and the creation of policies. The Committee submits an annual report at the Annual General Meeting. The Supervisory committee comprise of three (3) members that are elected by the membership.


The Events Committee is a group of volunteers from our membership that promotes our programs/events. These committee members perform calling campaigns to existing members to engage them in the activities of the TTFSCU. There are seven (7) committee members.


The Investment Committee shoulders governance responsibility for investments. This committee ensures that the Trinidad and Tobago Fire Service Credit Union’s investments are properly managed.